Edinburgh Cup

The Edinburgh Cup 2020

The 72nd Edinburgh Cup will be hosted by the Royal Forth Yacht Club, Edinburgh from 28 June to 3 July 2020! 

Scottish Dragon Championship: Sunday 28 and Monday 29 June 2020

Edinburgh Cup: Tuesday 30 – Friday 3 July 2020

In 2020 the Edinburgh Cup will be held once again at its eponymous home, with racing on the Firth of Forth hosted by the Royal Forth Yacht Club (RFYC) from its base in Granton Harbour. The event was last held on the Forth in 1997.

Granton Harbour provides pontoon berthing and easy access to the magnificent open waters of the mid Firth, which is uninterrupted by large islands or commercial traffic, against the iconic backdrop of Edinburgh Castle and Arthur’s Seat. The starting area is within approximately 1.5NM of the harbour mouth.

RFYC is proud to have the only Dragon fleet remaining in Scotland, including the redoubtable but now retired Solan K65 built in 1938. Royal Forth sailors won the Edinburgh Cup seven times between 1964 and 1994.

In keeping with return of the Edinburgh Cup competition to Edinburgh it is anticipated that Bluebottle K192, built in 1948 as a wedding present to their (then) Royal Highness’s Princess Elizabeth and Prince Philip the Duke of Edinburgh, will have completed her restoration and will be on the water. She may even compete!

Other attractions will include an evening reception aboard the former Royal Yacht Britannia. Those wanting somewhere memorable to stay can enjoy a special rate for accommodation aboard Fingal, the former Northern Lighthouse Board vessel now converted into a luxury floating hotel near Britannia.