Solent Series Scoring


Class Championship – Solent Fleet trophy for the CCCA Series: Cowes Keelboat Championships plus Solent Series excluding Cowes Week.

Early Season Solent Fleet Series – The Sandpiper Trophy presented by N J Streeter Esq. in 1997.

Mid Season Solent Fleet Series – The RCYC Salver presented in 1977.

Summer Season Solent Fleet Series – The Jubilee Cup presented in 1999.

Late Season Solent Fleet Series – The RCYC Salver presented in 1977

Cowes Keelboat Championship – CCCA trophy for this series.

Bill Thornback Trophy – Solent Fleet trophy awarded to the highest placed Classic Dragon in the Class Championship.

Phantom Trophy – Solent Fleet trophy for the overall Class Champion, constructed before 1991.

Ganymede Bowl – Solent Fleet trophy for the overall winner of Cowes Week, excluding the Crews Race. Results are calculated in accordance with the scoring system prescribed in the Notice of Race for the Cowes Week Regatta. One discard will be allowed

Crews Race Trophy – Solent Fleet trophy.  The helmsman must not have steered in a SCRA or Cowes Week race.  By tradition owners work foredeck if aboard.


Owners are required to make their own entries for:

  • CCCA Series
  • Round-the-Island; Cowes Classics Week and Cowes Week
  • South Coast Dragon Championship – direct to the organisers.
  • Any races outside the Solent area – direct to the organisers.


For the Class Championship each yacht shall have 12 discards, if more than 2 races are lost – 11 discards, if more than 4 races are lost – 10 discards, if more than 6 races are lost  – 9 discards and so on. The yacht with the lowest total wins (Cowes Week excluded).

For the Early, Mid, Summer and Late Season Series, the RYA Low Point Scoring System referred to in Appendix A of the International Yacht Racing Rules will apply. (These series also includes the relevant championship weekend results.)