Podium success for Corinthian Dragons in Falmouth

Edinburgh Cup 2022 Day One

Sunny skies and a northwest breeze greeted the Dragon fleet in Falmouth Harbour on day one of the Edinburgh Cup, the British Dragon national championship.

It was a clean start for race one with the fleet split left and right going up the first beat. With the sea breeze fighting the northwest wind, the conditions became patchy and light across the racecourse.

GBR 192 Bluebottle took a commanding lead, securing their first win, followed across the line by Provezza Dragon TUR 1212. Andy Moss’ GBR 760 Hands Off had a great race, chipping away at the fleet on each leg to finish third with GBR 763 Bertie and GBR 633 Fei-Lin’s Flirtation taking fourth and fifth respectively.

Andy Moss commented “We were absolutely delighted with our results today. We had a very frustrating day yesterday, we couldn’t read the course, couldn’t read the wind at all, but today was completely different. We seemed to get in the right shift patterns, we managed to find the pressure and to overtake boats right away through both races.  It was fantastic teamwork; we are really enjoying it in Falmouth.”

As the sequence began for race two the NNW breeze increased with white caps welcoming the Dragons. It was exciting racing from the 24 keelboats up the first beat which resulted in a pile-up at the windward mark.

The increased pressure allowed the Dragons to stretch their legs across Falmouth Bay and it was TUR 1212 who crossed the line first with recently crowned Southwest Dragon Champions IRL 201 Jaguar Racing Team in second. Cowes-based Dragon GBR 761 Jerboa enjoyed a better race taking third place followed by Pageboy XI GBR 791 and Furious GBR 777.

TUR 1212 has a five-point lead over GBR 192 going into the second day and with a similar wind forecast it could make for another set of exciting close racing in Falmouth.


Sailed: 2, Discards: 0, To count: 2, Entries: 24, Scoring system: Appendix A

1stProvezza DragonTUR 1212Andy BeadsworthBodrum Offshore SC
2ndBluebottleGBR 192Graham BaileyRoyal Yacht Squadron
3rdJaguar Racing TeamIRL 201Martin ByrneRoyal St George YC
4thHands OffGBR 760Andrew MossRoyal Corinthian YCC3.06.09.0
5thPageboy XIGBR 792Clive PageRoyal Corinthian YCC6.04.010.0
6thBertieGBR 763Simon BarterCowes Corinthian YCC4.08.012.0
7thFei-Lin’s FlirtationGBR 633Ronald JamesRoyal Forth YC
8thFuriousGBR 777Owen PayCowes Corinthian YC
9thBasiliskGBR 515Patrick GiffordAldeburgh YCC,>
10thJerboaGBR 761Gavia Wilkinson-CoxRoyal Torbay YCL19.03.022.0
11thRaissaGBR 809Michael CopeSouth Caernarfonshire YCC8.017.025.0
12thGandalfGBR 726Edwin HannantMedway YC
13thSankaGBR 748Dave RossCowes Corinthian YC
14thStill CrazyGBR 827Ian GrayRoyal Corinthian YC
15thKestraGBR 731Richard LeaskRoyal Forth YCC10.020.030.0
16thFlotationGBR 790Richard DaviesRoyal Thames YC
17thFit ChickGBR 753Chris GrosscurthMedway YCC23.010.033.0
18thNaiadGBR 764Michael HaylesAldeburgh YCC20.015.035.0
19thRánGBR 430Crispin BlythRoyal Yorkshire YC>2517.018.035.0
20thKismetGBR 508Cathy OgdenRoyal Forth YCC,L,>2514.022.036.0
21stDublin BayGBR 826David WarnerRoyal Corinthian YCC16.023.039.0
22ndGlaurungGBR 768Richard CullenRORCC21.019.040.0
23rdSutiGBR 747Trevor CoxMedway YCC22.021.043.0
24thIthacaGBR 734Michael CoverRoyal Thames YCC24.025.0 RET49.0